Borough’s sporting champions shortlisted for Senior Sports Awards

February 05, 2020

The eagerly awaited shortlist has been announced for the 2020 Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Senior Sports Awards which will take place on Thursday 19 March at Craigavon Civic & Conference Centre.

Organised by the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum in association with Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and sponsored by Rushmere Shopping Centre, the awards recognise the wealth of sporting talent across the borough and celebrate the achievements of those who have excelled in their chosen sport.

Lord Mayor, Councillor Mealla Campbell, said, “With 38 shortlisted nominations across nine categories this is a superb indication of the abundance and vibrancy of sporting talent across the borough. Each nominee should be extremely proud of their achievements and I look forward to the awards ceremony to pass on my congratulations to all those shortlisted.”

The following nominees have been shortlisted with the winners announced at the awards ceremony.

Category Name (Sport)
Sports Person with a Physical or
Sensory Disability
Scott Cromie (Boccia)
Niall McVeigh (Para Badminton)
Chris Burns (Para Cycling)
Brian Leneghan (Visually Impaired Tennis)
Sports Person with a Learning Disability Thomas Skelly (Alpine Skiing)
Jill Connery (Golf)
Sportswoman of the Year Orla O’Connor (Archery)
Emma Mitchell (Athletics)
Kelly Mallon (Camogie, Gaelic Football
& Road Bowls)
Liz Dermott (Fly Fishing)
Courtney Morris (Karate)
Bethany Barr (Hockey)
Sportsman of the Year Mark Nesbitt (Archery)
Mark Downey (Cycling)
Philip Doyle (Rowing)
Russell White (Triathlon)
Senior Team of the Year Aghaderg GAC, Senior Camogie Team
Armagh Harps GFC, Senior Ladies Gaelic Football Team
Craigavon Aztecs Volleyball Club, Aztecs Eagles Mens Team
Dunbarton Bowling Club, Junior Team
Hanover Football Club, Senior Men’s 1st XI
St Mark’s Bowling Club, Fours Team
Tandragee Golf Club, Jimmy Bruen Team
Senior Coach of the Year Steven Hyndes (Football)
Kevin Broderick (Karate)
Paddy McShane (Ladies Gaelic Football)
Callum Grieve (Volleyball)
Service to Sport Deidre McGrath (Camogie/Gaelic Games)
Brian Cairns (Cycling)
Calvin Rowe (Rugby)
Volunteer Paul Hannigan (Cycling)
Connor Campbell (Disability Sports)
Colin McDonnell (Karate)
Caroline Meenan (Rugby)
Club of the Year Banbridge Golf Club
Craigavon Aztecs Volleyball Club
Dunbarton Bowling Club
Lurgan Rugby Football and Cricket Club

For further information contact Sarah Aiken, Assistant Sports Development Officer T: 028 3883 1690 or E:

Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council © 2023 - All Rights Reserved