Shortlist announced for Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Junior Sports Awards 2019

August 15, 2019 / News
Shortlist announced for Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Junior Sports Awards 2019

Nominees have been shortlisted for the prestigious Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Junior Sports Awards, sponsored by McKeever Sports Intersport, which will take place on Friday 27 September in Craigavon Civic and Conference Centre at 7pm.

Lord Mayor, Councillor Mealla Campbell said ‘I am delighted to announce the shortlisted nominees for this year’s Junior Sports Awards. It is fantastic to see the high standard of young athletes from within our Borough and I am looking forward to a night of celebrating their sporting achievements.’

Padraic McKeever, Managing Director of McKeever Sports Intersport added, “We are once again delighted to be Headline Sponsor for these prestigious awards. I know the selectors had a difficult task given the very high standard of sporting achievements and would like to congratulate all those nominees who have made the shortlist. We are looking forward to the awards evening and getting to meet all our local sports stars of the future.”



Name  (Sport)

Sports Person with a Disability Caolan McConville – (Skiing)
Junior Male of the Year Scott Owen – (Athletics – Cross County & Track)
Nathan Hook – (Athletics – Field)
Rory Comer – (Badminton)
Dylan Foy – (Boxing)
Sam Topping – (Cricket)
Tommy Dobson – (Hockey)
Scott Craig – (Rugby)
Adam Brown – (Skiing)
Junior Female of the Year Sinead Byrne – (Archery)
Laura Comer – (Badminton)
Mia Patterson – (Bowls)
Lucy Morton – (Equestrian)
Katie Herron – (Football & Hockey)
Catlin McCormack – (Gaelic Football)
Abbie Corbett – (Gymnastics)
Nicole Larmour – (Table Tennis)
Jodie McKew – (Taekwondo)
Junior School Team of the Year Seagoe Primary School Football Team
King’s Park Primary School Girls Football Team
St Catherine’s College U14 Girls Gaelic Football Team
St Ronan’s College Loch An Iuir
Banbridge Academy U14 Boys Hockey Team
Seagoe Primary School Girls Hockey Team
Junior Club Team of the Year Craigavon City Football Club U14 Boys Team
Craigavon City Football Club U13 Girls Team
Sarsfields GAC U14 Boys Gaelic Football Team
Clan na Gael CLG U14 Girls Gaelic Football Team
Portadown Ladies Hockey Club U11 Team
Banbridge Rugby Football Club U14 Team
Youth Male of the Year Niall McComb – (Archery)
Daniel Scott – (Athletics – Field)
Odhran Hamilton – (Athletics – Track)
Matthew Daly – (Cricket)
Aaron Graham – (Rugby)
Daniel Wiffin – (Swimming)
Caleb Ralston – (Tennis)
Youth Female of the Year Bethany Nixon – (Athletics – Cross Country & Track)
Holly Mulholland – (Athletics – Track)
Casey Mullan – (Camogie & Gaelic Football)
Niamh McKiverigan – (Cycling)
Clia Creaney – (Gaelic Football)
Ellen Reid – (Hockey)
Katie Cartmill – (Netball)
Youth School Team of the Year Banbridge Academy Intermediate Cross Country Team
St Patrick’s Grammar School U19 Boys Basketball Team
St Catherine’s College U16 Girls Gaelic Football Team
Banbridge Academy 1st XI Girls Hockey Team
Dromore High School 1st VX Rugby Team
Banbridge Academy U15 Girls Table Tennis Team
Youth Club Team of the Year Banbridge Netball Club U16 Team
Annaclone GAC U16 Girls Gaelic Football Team
City of Armagh RFC U16 Team
Portadown Amateur Swimming Club Provincial Towns League Team
School Coach of the Year Rose Anne Slane – (St Patrick’s Grammar School)
Ciara Marley – (St Catherine’s College)
Mark Cordner – (Banbridge Academy)
Neil Madeley – (Banbridge Academy)
Club Coach of the Year Damien Lennon – (Northern Ireland Performance Academy)
Becky Cullen – (Iveagh Pony Club)
Bryan McCann – (Craigavon City Football Club)
Diarmaid Marsden – (Clan na Gael CLG)
Clive Gardiner – (Banbridge RFC)
Volunteer Robyn Doherty – (Banbridge Netball Club)
Aaliyah McKinney – (Armagh Special Olympics Swimming Club)

For further information on the Junior Sports Awards, contact the Sports Development Unit on 028 3831 1692