Virtual awards event honours borough’s finest junior sports stars

February 23, 2021

U105’s Denise Watson has virtually announced the deserving winners of this year’s Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Junior Sports Awards.

The virtual awards saw videos premiering each day on the council’s Facebook page announcing a total of 34 shortlisted nominees and winners in each of the 10 award categories. The wealth of talent being honoured demonstrated that the borough has a vast, rich and diverse pool of people who merit recognition for their outstanding sporting achievements and performances throughout the year.

Organised in partnership with the Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Sports Forum, the virtual awards showcased a range of athletes, teams, coaches, clubs and volunteers – recognising and rewarding their achievements and celebrating their commitment and excellence in participation and performance.

Lord Mayor of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon, Councillor Kevin Savage commented “We are delighted to showcase the excellence achieved by our individuals, schools and clubs across the borough. Participating at the highest level requires talent and dedicated determined effort, sacrifice and substantial support from backroom specialists, friends and family. It is so important for the Council to be able to recognise the incredible talents through these awards. Well done to all the nominees and winners!”

The winners of 2020 Junior Sports Awards are as follows:

Young Volunteers & Junior School Team:
• Young Volunteers: Two worthy recipients – Morgan Steenson from Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club and Niamh Rafferty from St. Brenda’s Ballymacnab C.L.G
• Junior School Team: Award winner is Killicomaine Junior High School – Girls Junior Hockey Cup Squad.

Junior Female & Junior Male of the Year:
• Junior Female of the Year – Sinead Byrne (Archery) Ballyvally Archers Club
• Junior Male of the Year – Aedan McGivern (Table Tennis) Craigavon Table Tennis Club

Youth School Team & Youth Club Team:
• Youth School Team of the Year – St. Patrick’s Grammar School U19 Basketball Team
• Youth Club Team of the Year – Armagh Harps G.F.C Minor Ladies Team

School Coach & Club Coach of the Year:
• School Coach of the Year – Rose-Anne Slane (Basketball) St. Patrick’s Grammar School
• Club Coach of the Year – Kevin Broderick (Karate) Banbridge & Rathfriland Karate Club

Youth Female of the Year:
• Winner – Kathryn Morton (Archery) Ballyvally Archers Club

Youth Male of the Year:
• Winner – Daniel Wiffen (Swimming) Larne Swimming Club

Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council © 2023 - All Rights Reserved